Društvo slovenskih skladateljev Society of Slovene Composers

Trg francoske revolucije 6/l
SI-1000 Ljubljana
Slovenija / Slovenia
Tel./Phone: +386(0)12415660
Faks/Fax: +386(0)12415666


more »



Leto rojstva: 1969

Commission of Musical Works
Urška POMPE (1969, Jesenice)



- Intermediate Music School n Ljubljana: department of music theory (diploma in 1988), piano (diploma in 1991, class of Gita Mally),

- Academy of Music in Ljubljana: degree in composition (1993, class of Prof. Dane Škerl),

- post-graduate studies in composition at the Academy of Music Franz Liszt in Budapest, Hungary (1993, class of Prof. Emil Petrovics),

- course in analysis of music works – classical and contemporary (A. Mullenbach) and composition course (V. Suslin, Sofia Gubaidulinova) at the International Summer Academy in Salzburg, Austria (1993),

- piano master class (Pierre-Laurent Aimard) at the International Bartok Seminar in Szombathely, Hungary (1994),

- international master class in composition (Brian Ferneyhough, James Dillon) in Royaumont, France (1994),

- post-graduate studies of chamber music (Marta Gulyas) and solfeggio (Erzsebet Hegyi) at the Academy of Music Franz Liszt in Budapest, Hungary (1995-1997),

- post-graduate studies of composition (Roland Moser) at the Academy of Music in Basle, Switzerland (1995-1997),

- a scholarship of the Centre Acanthes, Paris for master classes in chamber music and composition (Gyorgy Kurtag) in Avignon, France (1995),

- master class in composition (Brian Ferneyhough) and chamber music (Miklos Perenyi) at the International Bartok Seminar in Szombathely, Hungary (1996),

- International Kodaly Seminar (solfeggio), Kecskemet, Hungary (1997),

- master class in composition (Helmuth Lachenmann), Centre Acanthes, Avignon (1999),

- International Gaudeamus Music Week, Amsterdam – a scholarship of the British Music Society, London (1999),

- master class in composition (Ivan Fedele, Brian Ferneyhough, F. B. Mache), Centre Acanthes, Avignon (2002).



- teaching solfeggio at the Academy of Music in Ljubljana (since 1997, from May 2000 onwards associate professor).



- Prešeren Prize for best students for the composition Three Impressions for string quartet, 1991,

- first prize at the international competition Alpe Adria Giovani for the composition Duo for flute and bassoon, Trieste, Italy, 1994,

- as first prize-winner she was chosen at the international call for the project Junge Komponisten (Young Composers)in Leipzig, Germany, 1995.


OUTPUT (a selection of recent works):


Canticuum graduum CXXIX for mixed choir (1996), Zapušèena polja (Abandoned Fields) for mixed choir (1997), Mass for mixed choir (1997), Caritatis for mixed choir (1997), The Thirsty Earth – three compositions for female or youth choir (1998), Bežim v zeleno (I Take Refuge in Green) for female choir (2000), Quare? for mixed choir (2001), Sen (Dream) for mixed choir (2003).


VOCAL MUSIC (arrangements):

Venci veili, a folk song from Prekmurje for mixed choir (1998), Speivaj nama Katica (Sing us a tune, Katie), a folk song from Prekmurje for female choir (2000).



Duo for flute and bassoon (1994), Images perdues – a chamber cycle for clarinet, violin, violoncello, soprano, mezzo-soprano and baritone (1994/95), Five Pieces for soprano and percussion (1995), Much ado about nothing for one performer and three flutes (1995), Duo for viola and violoncello (1997), Vanitas vanitatum for baritone and piano (1998), Trio - pogovori (Trio – Dialogues) for French horn, trumpet and tuba (1999), Potiho (Quietly) for English horn and harp (1999), M... for viola and violoncello (2000), Èujeèi (Watchful) for wind quintet (2001), ...tisti košèek modrega neba... (…that tiny bit of blue sky…) for fourteen string instruments (2002, rev. 2003), Dan za dnem (Day after Day) for two alto saxophones (2003).



Laudatio for solo flute (1993), Solo for violoncello (1996), Pet korakov (Five Steps) for piano (1997).



Address: Spodnje Gorje 208, 4247 Zgornje Gorje

Telephone + 386 (0) 4 572 58 53

E-mail: urska.pompe@guest.arnes.si

slo    eng
Editions DSS

Purchase and borrow sheet music and compact discs by Slovene composers


Hire / Purchase Library order